Briggs Marine Logo- Main Sponsor

Main Sponsor: Briggs Marine

Burntisland Shipyard 0 Ormiston 6

Same old story for sorry Shipyard.

The Shipyard’s season continued to lurch from one heavy defeat to another as visitors Ormiston hit six without reply at Recreation Park on Saturday. Although there was little between the teams in the early stages once Ormiston took the lead in the 24th minute they never looked back and ran out easy winners in the end. In fairness to the Shipyard players their cause wasn’t helped by some controversial and baffling decisions from the referee.

Graeme Purves opened the scoring for Ormiston with a header from a ball played in from the left-hand side and Craig O’Neill made it two in the 29th minute when he converted after the Shippy defence failed to clear a ball cut back from the bye-line. Ormiston’s third was hugely controversial when the referee awarded them a penalty for a trip despite a clear case of dangerous play in the build by an Ormiston player, however, Mr Smith claimed he never saw the infringement. Johnathon Edmond calmly stroked the ball home from 12 yards.

Edmond scored from the spot again in the 61st minute though this time the award was merited. Edmond then completed his hat-trick in the 66th minute when he easily scored from inside the area after side stepping his marker.

In a rare attack from the Shippy Ewan Fotheringham burst clear of the visitors defence only to be hauled down as drove towards the box, however, Mr Smith saw it differently and awarded Ormiston a free-kick much to the surprise of everyone inside the ground. Ormiston scored their sixth with a couple of minutes remaining when Nicky Cairns’ deflected free-kick found the net.

Due to a fixture reversal the Shippy are at home again this week (22/10/2016) as we welcome league newcomers Tweedmouth Rangers from Berwick upon Tweed to Burntisland. Kick off 2.30pm.

Burntisland Shipyard: M. Taylor; D. Roberts; L. Fleming; A. MacDonald; M. Black; L. Thompson (C. Allison); G. Buckley; G. Grieve; N. McKay (S. Murphy); E. Fotheringham; D. Taylor.

Ormiston: D. Johnston; R. Fairnie; J. Malcolm (R. Ferguson); R. Cowan (D. Nash); Z. Walker; A. Simpson; Y. Bernawi (K. Amagou); N. Cairns; J. Edmond; C. O’Neill; G. Purves.

Referee: N. Smith.