Briggs Marine Logo- Main Sponsor

Main Sponsor: Briggs Marine

Manager happy despite defeat

Burntisland Shipyard 1 Spartans EOS 2.

The Shipyards first home match of the season ended in a narrow 2-1 defeat against Spartans EOS side as Myles try’s to mould his squad into the way he wants it. New signing Ewan Henderson made his debut from the bench but Daniel Watt who also signed on Monday night missed out through injury. There was also a return to the club for Stevie Connor who had taken some time away from football.
The Shipyard fell behind early on as keeper Jordan Mushet miscontrolled a pass back allowing the Spartans forward the simple task of rolling the ball into the empty net. Nevertheless this setback did not upset Mushet as he went on to make a series of good saves during the first half. The visitors scored a second goal in the 38th minute when a cross from the right was only partially cleared and the Spartans player produced a fine finish from the edge of the box. An injury to Connor McManus at the start of the second half upset the managers plans as he had just made a couple of changes to his team as he looked to alter his tactics and get more into the game. It was Stevie Connor that came on for McManus and he made an impact quickly as he delivered a pinpoint cross that was headed home by Dale Robertson. Another of the subs Ewan Henderson missed a great chance to draw his side level but he shot straight at the keeper from a good position.
After the match Myles gave his verdict on the match when he said “I’m happy because we got exactly what I wanted out of the game. 17 players got minutes under their belts in a very competitive game. I knew there was a danger we’d be over-run in the first half by playing a 4-4-2 but we played like that as it was the only way to get everyone time on the pitch in familiar positions. There were obviously some aspects of the game that could have been better but overall I’m very satisfied with how things went tonight”.
Team: J. Mushet; B. Rogerson; P. Bell; B. Smart; C. McManus; B. Napier; JP. McPhail; D. Robertson; K. Buckley; A. Doig; C. Samson. Subs: E. Henderson; J. Crombie; S. Keatings; S. Connor; K. Mason; J. Fyfe.