Briggs Marine Logo- Main Sponsor

Main Sponsor: Briggs Marine

Tynecastle 7 Burntisland Shipyard 0

Tynecastle prove too strong for young Shippy team.

The Shipyard fielded a young and inexperienced side as interim manager Raymond Drury took the team to Edinburgh to face Tynecastle at Saughton Enclosure on Wednesday night. Several of the under 20 squad were involved after a spate of late call offs decimated the squad. Despite the heavy 7-0 defeat the players gave their all in a back to the wall performance and luck was against them with ball breaking kindly for the Tynecastle players to score on more than one occasion.

The Shippy defence kept the hosts at bay quite comfortably in the opening minutes as they stuck rigidly to the game plan, however, all the good work was undone in the 17th minute as the Tynecastle forward was allowed time to turn at the edge of the six-yard box and slot the ball home. In a rare foray forward Craig Sandison had a shot on target but it never troubled home keeper Robert Watt. Tynie‚Äôs second goal had a touch of good fortune as the ball rebounded off the bar straight to their player who tucked the ball away. Sean Cusick had a free-kick saved by Watt just before Tynecastle’s third on the stroke of half-time, as a well struck free-kick went in off the post.

Sandison passed up an opportunity for the Shippy at the start of the second period but it was the home team who again benefited from good fortune as the ball ricocheted off their player’s chest to leave Cammy Lambie helpless. All the effort the players had put in started to show as they visibly tired and Tynecastle took advantage as they scored another three goals in the closing stages to record an emphatic win.

Things don’t get any easier for the Shipyard on Saturday as Lothian Thistle HV visit Recreation Park, kick off 2.30pm.

Burntisland Shipyard: C. Lambie, J. Pirie, K. Ford, C. McAleavey, C. Drury, A. Trialist, O. Ferry, R. McCarthy-Lee, S. Cusick, C. Sandison (D. Ginc), E. Fotheringham (S. Malpas).

Tynecastle: R. Watt, N. Kelly, R. McIntyre, R. Ferguson, G. Page, R. Mason, E. Greig, M. Robinson, D. Crabbe, R. Mayer, K. Hutchison. Subs: T. Purves, L. Grant, A. Chingwalu, R. Polson, C. O’Reilly.

Referee: B. Allan.